RSS

Published at Last!

05 Apr
Book Cover

Book Cover

I finally did it! After months of research and planning and many weeks of writing and editing, I have finally published my first book: The Substitute Teacher‘s Toolkit. In it I tell my story of woe. Well, I tell about a disastrous week I had at the middle school level shortly after I got started. I went into that week full of confidence that I knew how to handle kids, and came out thinking I had a great deal to learn.

My wife, a professor of nursing, has a real passion for middle school kids. You can’t help but feel sorry for the little rapscallions as they struggle with the vagaries of puberty while trying to look cool in the process. She begged me not to abandon them entirely as good role models were in very short supply. I took her advice, though I did lay low, mostly at the elementary school level, for a couple of months as I worked on developing the skills I needed to manage a classroom.

What I learned was astonishing. There are a ton of resources out their for teachers and subs alike. There are a lot of people who understand the challenges of teaching and they offer a vast variety of tools to assist. Corporations, too, understand the importance of a well educated workforce and they frequently offer great resources as well. And the best news is that a great many of these resources are offered free of charge.

It is now possible to gather the training and resources you need to be a very successful substitute, online and at a very reasonable price. Unlike me, you can enter the classroom looking like a professional who knows what they are doing. You can avoid many of the mistakes I made and make a great impression on the kids you teach as well as the administrators you serve. If you are hoping to work full time as a teacher, this is essential. If you just want to be a better sub, this will point you to many thousands of resources that are available to help you do your job with style. Please, check it out at the Amazon store here.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on April 5, 2013 in Free Resources

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Published at Last!

  1. carescorp

    April 10, 2013 at 9:41 pm

    I haven’t read the book but if what I have read from your blog post on classroom management at journey of a substitute teacher blog (in fact it’s the way through which I landed here) is anything to go by then I can say one thing for sure, this is a great book for equipping a substitute teacher be on top of their game.

     

Leave a Reply

 
